Arcando (2013) performance at the Sonic Arts Research Centre’s 2013 Showcase Concert

Arcando creates a dialogue between the hidden sound worlds of both the instrument and the computer. The nature of the relationship between the saxophone and the laptop is explored, as the laptop provides the opportunity of ‘freezing’ a particular moment in time in a way that almost allow the instrument to accompany itself. Capturing moments in time also allows a deeper concentration on the subtleties and nuances of the saxophone’s spectral content, creating a soundscape of frozen events and a structure with which the instrument can interact. As the coil microphone unveils otherwise inaudible electromagnetic activity, the laptop takes on the additional role of accompanying instrument and also provides harmonic material. Arcando was composed in collaboration with saxophonist Franziska Schroeder.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s